Mom Style: Skinny Jeans and Leggings- Fairly Fashionable Friday

March 5, 2010 at 3:01 pm Leave a comment

Lately I have become slightly obsessed with fashion.  Luckily I am also slightly obsessed with bargain shopping, so it isn’t putting too much of a hit on our bank account.  Many of the current style trends are really appealing to me as a mom, and looking around the mall and  city streets I see that I am not alone.  Leggings, flat boots, stretchy skinny jeans, long shirts and sweaters, tunics, and cardigans are all really mom friendly styles (i.e. comfortable), plus they look great and make you look really put together.

iDad always laughs at my ability to change into cozy pants in record timing once we are in for the evening, and leggings are the ultimate stylish cozy pant.  The key to wearing leggings, is long shirts- they have to cover your bum!  No excuses, unless you are 13 and even then I say, cover it up!  In terms of footwear, I love my flat suede slouch boots, flats, heels, and my hot mama leather high heel boots.  I love them with booties too, but I haven’t found any that work for me (that’s a whole other blog post).  Ain’t No Mom Jeans has a great post on what footwear to wear with leggings.

My best friend (a new mom), and I have been going on weekly trips to the mall to update our closets.  Last week our trip was focused on skinny jeans.  I have a couple pairs, but I was trying to convince her to try them on.  She is very thin, but still wasn’t convinced that skinny jeans were for her.  Of course she looked fantastic in them, and bought a pair.  The truth is, skinny jeans can look good on a variety of body types, (not just skinny minis like my friend). Because the bottom half of your body is so narrow with skinny jeans on, you can wear really flowy shirts or tops with more weight or layers.  I also really love skinny jeans with a short dress and boots.  I feel like the darker the wash the better, but some people can definitely pull off a light wash.

J Crew has a fantastic skinny jean, Matchstick jean- not too high or low rise.

Gap has an affordable flattering skinny jean- Gap Always Skinny Jeans.

I love my Forever 21 skinny jeans- they are really cheap and confortable.

Don’t fear the skinny jeans, and they aren’t disappearing anytime soon!

Entry filed under: Style.

Introducing K

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


K, iDad & me


